Monday, June 27, 2016

Google Classroom: End-of-Year Management


With the school year over, you might want to work poolside in the sun and manage your Google Classroom sections and Drive folders.  Follow these steps to prep your Google Classroom for the next year!

Step 1:  If you plan to use the exact same class next year with a new set of students, remove students from each current class.


Step 2: Archive each class

Select the "hamburger" 

Select Archive

      


When a class is archived, you can still view the class, but cannot submit or remove anything.  The archived class no longer shows up in students' current classes and is in a separate area.  Archived classes can be accessed in Google Drive.

If you select the 'hamburger' icon again, look towards the bottom of the left pane, you will be able to view ALL archived classes. You can delete or restore a class once in the "Archived Classes."  Be careful, once you delete a class, there is no way to undo this action.  

I suggest you keep at least one section of your previous classes.  You can reuse the posts to any of your new classes...BIG time saver!



Step 3:  Manage your Google Drive Classroom Folder


Go to Google Drive and search (don't sort) for your classroom folder.











As you can see in the image to the right, I have a folder from the 2014-2015 school year along with my current Google Classroom sections.  












Create a new folder and title it the current school year.


Move all class folders into your newly created folder.


Admire how neat and organized your classroom folder looks in Google Drive:





2 comments:

  1. Great guide, Tonya! I'm curious about why you recommend removing students from the class. I always just tell teachers to archive the course, but maybe I'm doing it wrong!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you John! It really is based on personal preference. I have discovered some teachers do not archive their classes. I have also discovered many students do not know how to unenroll themselves from a class at the end of a semester or year. By having teachers remove students from a class this helps students who do not remember or know how to unenroll themselves. Students will no longer see the class in Google Classroom, but they can access their work in Google Drive. I am hopeful as we all use Google Classroom moving forward, we will see less of this dilemma.

      Delete